Steamed Pork Spare Ribs with Garlic, Chilli & Blackbean Sauce

IMG_4522

This dish is one of my family favorites and it’s one of the few original recipes I learnt from my mum. Just to put you into perspective, I did not attempt cooking until I moved out of home and I still don’t really cook when my parents are around. Therefore I think it is very fitting that this dish is my first recipe post. My mum used to cook this for my brother and I when we were living at home and we would loved spooning the sauce over our rice and would have more than one bowl of rice each! I even managed to convert Mr Syu from not liking black bean sauce dishes to loving this dish.


There are many different types of steamed spare ribs with black bean sauce recipes out there and each of them are slightly different. Whether it’s the taste, sauce consistency or even the look of the dish.   My recipe is a little different to the ones I have tasted out there, it’s not the same as the ones you can order at Yum Cha (hardly any black beans), or the blackbean sauce spareribs served in Chinese restaurant (the sauce is quite thick). Can’t tell you whether it’s better than the ones out there, but I definitely prefer this over the others. You’ll just have to try it out for yourself.

This is a very simple dish and it does not take long to prepare. Great for when you come back from work and dinner will be ready in less than 30 mins. I usually just serve with a side of stir -fry vegetable and tad-ah ! you have have dinner for 2 – 3 people.

Before you read the recipe, just want to let you know you probably won’t need to be precise with the ingredients for my recipes (except for desserts). It’s a guide and  it is the amount I used cooking the dish in the pictures, but I’m sure it will work fine if you add a little bit more of this or that.  This is usually how I cook: I read recipes and add approximately the amount specified. (Similar to when a chef on TV say a pinch of salt, it looks like he/she sprinkle a whole handful in!)

IMG_4520IMG_4521

Ingredients:

  • 4 piece of pork rasher  – cubed (usually spareribs, put pork rasher will do as well, especially for those who doesn’t like bones)
  • 4 cloves of garlic – finely chopped
  • 1 small chilli  – finely chopped (if you like it hotter, you can add more)
  • 1/4 cup of black beans – finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp soya sauce
  • 1 tsp cornflour (depending how thick you want the sauce, you can add more)
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp shao xing cooking wine

Methods:

  1. Mix all ingredients with the pork in a dish and marinate for 10-15 minutes
  2. Boil water in the wok/saucepan/steamer (whatever you are using to steam)
  3. Place dish in wok/saucepan/steamer once water is boiling, cover with lid and steam for 10-15 minutes.

Please note: The sauce will form from the condensation of the steaming process.

… and this is how easy it is. I didn’t realise until I was typing out the steps and there are only 3 steps. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Steamed Pork Spare Ribs with Garlic, Chilli & Blackbean Sauce

  1. Pingback: Healthy Recipe Ideas (#14) » Kiwi Blogger

  2. Pingback: Garlic Pork Spare Ribs Recipe | mytastyrecipesblog

  3. Pingback: Honey Garlic Spare Ribs | mytastyrecipesblog

  4. Pingback: Honey Pork Spare Ribs | mytastyrecipesblog

Leave a Reply

